United Nations Convention on the Laws of the Sea also known as Law of the sea treaty is an international agreement resulted from the third UN Conference on the Law of Sea (UNCLOS III). This convention defines the rights and responsibilities of the nations in their use of world’s oceans and managing marine resources. The most significant issues covered are exclusive economic zone (EEZ), continental shelf jurisdiction, setting limits for various marine zones, deep bed mining and settlement of disputes over marine resources. The convention demarcated the sea based on certain principle and thereby set the limit of various areas. Typically the offshore regions of the sea are divided into the following zones- internal waters, territorial sea, contiguous zones, exclusive economic zone (EEZ) and high seas.

Free PowerplantCCS Newsletter in Your Email

Get regular updates and insights on the trends and breakthroughs in the power plant CCS industry! Register now. It's Free.